PULP Community
Difference between RI5CY and CV32E40P - Printable Version

+- PULP Community (https://pulp-platform.org/community)
+-- Forum: PULP's Community forum (https://pulp-platform.org/community/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: PULP General questions (https://pulp-platform.org/community/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Difference between RI5CY and CV32E40P (/showthread.php?tid=353)

Difference between RI5CY and CV32E40P - eureka - 09-24-2024

Hello! I'm a student using pulp to do some research. I  formerly used the [pulpino] and this platform uses the [RI5CY] core. Now I'm using the [pulpissimo] and it uses the [CV32E40P] core.

I wonder if there is any difference between these two cores. because I found it says "32 bit 4-stage core CV32E40P (formerly RI5CY)", is this means that the difference between them is just name? Because I also compare the CV32E40P's github page and the RI5CY core cloned by the pulpino, there are many difference between files. For example, there is no [tracer] moudle in the [CV32E40P].

Since I want write the core ([RI5CY] or [CV32E40p]) to the FPGA and use it as a controller to control a NPU, I wonder is there a huge difference between these two cores in the PPA(performance, power, area)

Since I'm not a native English speaker, it may cause difficult when you reading my question, I'm very sorry about that!

Thank you very much! Smile

RE: Difference between RI5CY and CV32E40P - kgf - 09-26-2024

Hello,

We had originally developed a 32bit core called RI5CY. This was taken over by OpenHW group and renamed to (the very unfortunate name of) CV32E40P (CV for Core Five, 32 for 32bit, E for Embedded, 4 for 4 stage pipeline, 0 to say the first variant, and P for PULP extensions). This happened now probably 4-5 years ago, and in the meantime the core was developed further and many issues were fixed as well as more features were added.